The BbyB concept

BbyB means being surprised by the haute couture of Belgian chocolate. More than twenty new flavour sensations whisk you away on a voyage of discovery. From intense to playful and smooth; but always exceptional. BbyB is about enjoyingchocolate and confectionary elegance, prepared by master chefs Bart Desmidt and Jan Verleye.

Bart Desmidt en Jan Verleye
BbyB Belgische Chocolade
BbyB was born out of Bart Desmidt's passion, a man who only works with the very best regional products in his Michelin-starred restaurant, Bartholomeus. Bart grew up by the sea and found inspiration for a new praline in the babelutte. What began as one of Bartholomeus' most popular desserts developed into BbyB: pralines, boobies, babeluttes and other confectionary of the very highest quality that tantalise the taste buds with originality and sophistication. ByB products taste delicious and are a pleasure to give.

Bart Desmidt

Almost sixteen years ago, head chef Bart Desmidt, a 23 year old newly-wed, opened his own restaurant, Bartholomeus on Heist-aan-Zee's promenade. Without any formal culinary training but with experience in classy restaurants, Bart had one basic rule from the beginning: to only serve the very best regional products. His search for local quality was welcomed by customers and culinary connoisseurs. Bartholomeus was awarded a Michelin star in 2000, followed by a second star in 2013, and the restaurant has deservedly hung onto it ever since. On the lookout for regional originality for the Bartholomeus dessert menu, Bart Desmidt found inspiration in a delicacy with a rich past on the Belgian coast, the babelutte. In 2010 the innovative pralines, based on the babelutte, developed from tasty dessert to its own brand, BbyB.

Bart Desmidt
Jan Verleye

Jan Verleye

The profession of chocolatier was a childhood dream for Jan Verleye. This dream became reality in 1993 with Chocolaterie Verleye in Turnhout. From the very beginning, Chocolaterie Verleye built up a reputation of quality by only working with 100% fresh and pure ingredients. At the request of satisfied customers the range was extended with fine patisserie and dessert cakes. Jan is a member of the Richemont Club Belgium and has won various awards in national and international competitions. He was also asked to give chocolate demonstrations in the Belgian pavilion at the 2010 world exhibition in Shanghai.

Le BbyB concept

BbyB a développé de nouvelles expériences gustatives en proposant plus de vingt nouvelles saveurs dont la palette va de goût intense à doux en passant par une touche ludique. BbyB ajoute ainsi une dimension d'élégance aux plaisirs de la dégustation de chocolat et de confiserie, préparés avec les ingrédients les plus purs et créés avec amour par les maîtres-chefs Bart Desmidt et Jan Verleye.

Bart Desmidt en Jan Verleye
BbyB Belgische Chocolade
BbyB est né de la passion de Bart Desmidt dont le restaurant étoilé, Bartholomeus, propose exclusivement les meilleurs produits régionaux. Bart, un enfant de la mer, s'est inspiré de la babelutte pour créer une nouvelle praline. Le dessert tant apprécié au Bartholomeus a débouché sur un concept global : BbyB englobe à présent des pralines, des boobies, des babeluttes et d'autres confiseries de qualité supérieure qui titillent les papilles gustatives avec originalité et raffinement. Délicieuses à déguster. Idéales à offrir.

Bart Desmidt

Il y a près de 16 ans, le chef-coq Bart Desmidt, jeune marié de 23 ans à peine, ouvre son restaurant sur la digue de Heist-aan-Zee : le Bartholomeus. S'il n'est pas passé par l'école hôtelière, il dispose néanmoins d'un beau bagage : une expérience précieuse dans quelques restaurants renommés. Il cultive son credo culinaire depuis le début : les meilleurs produits régionaux doivent se retrouver sur la table. Son amour de la qualité locale lui vaut d'être apprécié par un nombre croissant de clients et de gastronomes. En 2000, le Bartholomeus reçoit une étoile Michelin, suivie d’une deuxième étoille en 2013, un couronnement qu'il confirme depuis lors chaque année. Pour conférer aussi une authenticité régionale à sa carte des desserts, Bart Desmidt s'inspire d'une friandise délicate, la babelutte, qui fait la joie des petits et des grands à la Côte belge depuis des lustres. Les pralines à base de babelutte évoluent ensuite, en 2010, vers un concept de marque à part entière : BbyB.

Bart Desmidt
Jan Verleye

Jan Verleye

Dès son plus jeune âge, Jan Verleye caresse le rêve de devenir chocolatier. Il le réalise en 1993 en fondant la Chocolaterie Verleye à Turnhout qui se distingue depuis le début en proposant exclusivement des produits 100 % frais et purs. À la demande de ses clients, il étend sa gamme au fil des ans en y incluant de la pâtisserie fine et des biscuits de dessert. Jan est membre du Richemont Club Belgique et a décroché plusieurs médailles dans des concours nationaux et internationaux. Il a été sélectionné pour les démonstrations de produits à base de chocolat au pavillon belge de l'Exposition universelle de Shanghai en 2010.